Retail sales of cannabis (marijuana) begins today in New Jersey. Adults 21 years and older can now purchase cannabis from retail shops in the state.
Not all dispensaries offer retail purchases. Many dispensaries in the state are for medical cannabis only. You must have a medical cannabis card to purchase in these medical cannabis dispensaries. There is a medical dispensary in Eatontown that is not listed as a retail shop.
There are 13 dispensaries in the state that offer medical and retail purchases of cannabis:
640 CREEK ROAD
BELLMAWR NJ 08031
ARTICLE CONTINUES AFTER SPONSORED CONTENT
ATLANTIC HIGHLANDS ANIMAL HOSPITAL
We treat each of our patients as part of the family at Atlantic Highlands Animal Hospital. We offer top-quality surgical and dental treatments for cats and dogs. For the best pet care in the Atlantic Highlands, NJ, call us at (732) 291-4400. https://www.atlantichighlandsvet.com
3256 BRUNSWICK PIKE
LAWRENCE TWP. NJ 08648
2090 N BLACKHORSE PIKE
WILLIAMSTOWN NJ 08094
117 SPRING STREET
ELIZABETH NJ 07201
174 ROUTE 17 NORTH
ROCHELLE PARK NJ 07662
NJ-Rochelle-Park-Menu – Ascend Cannabis Dispensaries
196 3RD AVENUE #3-C
PATERSON NJ 07514
Curaleaf 4237 US-130 South
EDGEWATER PARK NJ 08010
26-48 BLOOMFIELD AVE
BLOOMFIELD NJ 07003
100 CENTURY DRIVE
EGG HARBOR TOWNSHIP NJ 08234
New Jersey’s Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization (CREAMM) Act allows for the legal sale and use of cannabis and cannabis products for residents 21 years and older. The newly adopted NJ-CRC rules establish the recreational cannabis industry in the state.
The State of New Jersey website offers this Q&A about retail cannabis purchases:
Who can buy?
Anyone – New Jersey residents or visitors – 21 years and older.
Where can I buy?
At any of the New Jersey licensed cannabis dispensaries listed here. (see map)
What can I buy?
In each transaction, dispensaries are allowed to sell up to the equivalent of 1 ounce of cannabis. That means up to:
- 1 ounce of dried flower, or
- 5 grams of concentrates, resins, or oils, or
- 1000mg of ingestible products (10 100mg packages) like gummies
A purchase of a combination of products may be 1/2 ounce of dried flower plus 2 1/2 grams of concentrate, or 5 packages of gummies and 1/2 ounce of dried flower.
Legally allowable product categories include dried flower, concentrated oils, resin, vape formulas, tinctures, lozenges, and soft chews, but availability will vary by dispensary. Perishable edibles like cookies and brownies are not available for purchase from any dispensary.
Reminder: The law allows adults 21 years and older to be in possession of 1 ounce total of cannabis and cannabis products.
How much will I pay?
Prices will vary by location and by product. All transactions are subject to New Jersey sales tax of 6.625% plus a social equity excise fee of 1/3 of 1%.
Will dispensaries be keeping records of what I buy?
Dispensary personnel will need to see a government-issued identification card to ensure purchasers are 21 years or older. They are not allowed to make copies of your ID or retain record of your purchase beyond what is required for the completion of that single financial transaction. Customers are free to voluntarily provide their information for customer programs – like mailing lists.
Where can I smoke my cannabis?
You may smoke in private spaces, however landlords may prohibit cannabis use and possession on their property.
Can I take my purchase back home to another state?
No. It is still illegal to transport cannabis across statelines.
Is it illegal to drive while high?
Yes. Laws regarding driving while impaired apply to being under the influence of cannabis.
REMEMBER: Use cannabis and cannabis products safely and responsibly.