Monmouth County Commissioner Director Thomas A. Arnone was sworn in as Commissioner Director for 2021 by Monmouth County Clerk Christine Giordano Hanlon.
Monmouth County Commissioner Director Thomas A. Arnone was sworn in as Commissioner Director for 2021 by Monmouth County Clerk Christine Giordano Hanlon.
Monmouth County Commissioner Director Thomas A. Arnone was sworn in as Commissioner Director for 2021 by Monmouth County Clerk Christine Giordano Hanlon.

Burry and Licitra sworn to three-year terms; Hanlon sworn as County Clerk

LINCROFT, NJ – Monmouth County Commissioner Thomas A. Arnone and Commissioner Susan M. Kiley were appointed as Commissioner Director and Commissioner Deputy Director, respectively, at the Board’s 2021 Organization Meeting held on Thursday, Jan. 7 at Brookdale Community College.

“I would like to thank the Board for appointing me to serve as the 2021 Director,” said Commissioner Director Arnone. “Last year was challenging, but I am proud of everything we accomplished here in Monmouth County and the fact that we have not taken one day off since March 9 and have remained dedicated to protecting and serving our residents and businesses.

“We held conference calls every single week with all 53 mayors, met regularly business chambers, the arts community and the many people who needed our help. We received $108 million in CARES Act funding and distributed $35 million to our businesses and non-profits, $25 million to our municipalities to reimburse for COVID-19 expenses,” added Commissioner Director Arnone. “But our work is far from done. We will work now on the COVID-19 vaccine and continue with our testing program as we carry on our fight to end this pandemic here in Monmouth County.”


The holiday season is approaching quickly, and many families are looking to board their pets while they travel. It’s the perfect time to update vaccinations before holiday travels begin. Call today to schedule an appointment. (732) 291-4400

mc clerk hanlon sworn

PHOTO: Monmouth County Clerk Christine Giordano Hanlon was sworn into her second, five-year term as County Clerk by the Honorable Joseph W. Oxley, Superior Court Monmouth County.

“I am honored that the Board has put their faith in me to serve as Deputy Director again this year,” said Commissioner Deputy Director Kiley. “I look forward to continuing to work with Commissioner Director Arnone, and the entire Board, on behalf of our Monmouth County residents.”

Prior to the selection of the Board leadership, Monmouth County Clerk Christine Giordano Hanlon, Commissioner Lillian G. Burry and Commissioner Ross Licitra were sworn into office.

mc hanlon burry

PHOTO: Monmouth County Commissioner Lillian G. Burry is presented with her Certificate of Election by Monmouth County Clerk Christine Giordano Hanlon.

Hanlon, who was elected into her second, five-year term, was issued the Oath of Office by the Honorable Joseph W. Oxley, Judge Superior Court Monmouth County. Burry was sworn into her fifth, three-year term as Commissioner by the Honorable Lisa P. Thornton, Judge Superior Court Monmouth County. Licitra was sworn into his first, three-year term as a Commissioner by the Honorable Lisa P. Thornton as well.

mc commissioner licitra

PHOTO:  Monmouth County Commissioner Ross Licitra was sworn into his first, three-year term as Commissioner by the Honorable Lisa P. Thornton, Superior Court Monmouth County.

“It has been the honor of my life to serve as Monmouth County Clerk for the past five years and I am grateful to the residents of Monmouth County for placing confidence in me to serve a second term,” said Clerk Hanlon. “I look forward to the next five years with much enthusiasm and excitement.”

“Having just been re-elected to a new, three-year term, I am prepared to commit myself to making the restoration of Monmouth County my highest priority. My experience as both a government official and a business owner particularly qualify me for this mission,” said Commissioner Burry. “I am convinced we can bring Monmouth County back as a stronger, more sustainable, place for people to work, play, visit, and call home. I believe, when working together, there is nothing we can’t do.”

“It is truly an honor and a privilege for me to have been elected by the residents of Monmouth County to offer my service on the already tremendous Board of County Commissioners,” said Commissioner Licitra. “I have been a public servant my entire adult life and cannot think of a better place to bring my 35 years of government service than this Board, joining the leadership of Monmouth County.”
Each of the Commissioners thanked County Administration and employees for their hard work throughout 2020, especially during the COVID-19 pandemic.
“Last year, we were met with unprecedented challenges that impacted our local economy, resources, social services and public health systems. These were challenges that we could not have prepared for, and I am proud of the work our County has done and continues to do for our residents,” said Commissioner Nick DiRocco. “We are not done with COVID-19 yet and we are back in the throes of this pandemic. I am confident that next year, I will be able to stand here and say we once again delivered essential services to all County residents.”
The Commissioners also expressed their thanks to Commissioner Director Arnone and Commissioner Deputy Director Kiley for their dedication, leadership and responsibility to Monmouth County in 2020 as well as former Commissioner Patrick Impreveduto for his time as a public servant as a Commissioner, formerly referred to as Freeholder, as well as Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Holmdel Township.
The Commissioners made a number of citizen member appointments to various County boards and commissions that included:

• Addiction Services (three year term) – Lester Richens
• Bayshore Outfall Authority (five year term) – Michael J. Kalaka and Rocco Impreveduto
• Construction Board of Appeals (four year term) – Donald A. Clare
• Environmental Council (three year term) – Wilma Morrissey, Scott Thompson, John Vig and Ashley Reese
• Fair Housing Board (five year term) – Joyce Quarles and Rev. Joseph Thelusca
• Historical Commission – Regular member (three year term) – Glenn Cashion, Joseph Grabas and Barbara Harrigan. Chairwoman and Presiding Officer (three year term) – Barbara Harrigan
• Library Commission (three year term) – Mary Ann Musich
• Mental Health Board (three year term) – Julia Barugel
• Assistant Fire Marshals (two year term) – Charles Shirley and Thomas Welsh. Assistant Fire Marshal (unexpired term ending Feb. 22, 2022) – Michael Burke
• Planning Board – Regular member (three year term) – James C. Schatzle and Marcy McMullen. Alternate member (one year term) – John Mele and Lori Ann Davidson
• Recreation Commissioners – Regular member (five year term) – Michael Harmon and Anthony Fiore. Regular member (unexpired term ending March 15, 2021) – Joseph Di Bella
• Shade Tree Commission (five year term) – Thomas Ritchie
• Youth Services Commission (three year term) – Amy Altenhaus, Kathy Collins, Wendy DePedro, Carl Jennings, Ivan Kaplan and Lester Richens

For additional information about Monmouth County and the Board of County Commissioners, go to

AHHerald relies on advertising to support our operations.
When you click an affiliate link we may earn a commission.