HIGHLANDS – Four new special police officers were sworn into office at the reorganization m eeting of the Mayor and Council last week.

Mayor  Carolyn Broullon swore in second class officers Joseph Blewett, Jr, David Osuch and Andrew  MIcelli, and Councilman Ken Braswell sworn in his son, Alex Braswell to the second class positions. Second class officers have the authority to make arrests and carry firearms.

Kevin Connor was  sworn in as  a class one special law enforcement  officer.  Class One officers do not  carry weapons.  

Councilwoman Rosemary Ryan was named council president and is the council’s representative to the board of education.  Ryan is also the liaison to the Environmental committee an d Green Team.

Parkfest 2021

Councilman Cody Valkos, who was also sworn in to   a one year unexpired term  on council, was named police commissioner. Valkos was named by Broullon to fill the seat  she vacated when she was elected mayor and is expected to fun for the one year remaining in that term in November, 2020.

Valkos was also named chairman of the community public relations committee.

The next regular meet ing of the governing body will begin with an executive session  at 7 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 15,  followed by t he regular meeting.  Workshop meetings are held before the first meeting of each month at 7 p.m. followed by the regular meeting at  approximately 8 p.m.  

Brian Burton was sworn in as fire chief for 2020.                                 

AHHerald relies on advertising to support our operations. When you click on an affiliate link we may earn a commission.

Atlantic Highlands Herald since 1999. America's First Official Online Newspaper.

Muriel J Smith

Muriel J Smith has been a resident of the bayshore since 1955, barring the ten years she and her husband took to travel throughout the United States before coming back to what she believes is the best...