MANALAPAN, NJ  – Renee B. Swartz, Rumson, was unanimously re-elected chairperson of the Monmouth County Library Commission during its reorganization meeting, continuing a position she has maintained for nearly half a century. She was first appointed to the Commission in 1966 and has served as its chairperson since 1976.

Brian Boms, Atlantic Highlands, was sworn in to his first term on the Commission by Freeholder Lillian G. Burry, the board’s liaison to the commission. Boms succeeds Peter Doyle, former co-treasurer of the Commission and former Atlantic Highlands Councilman. Mary Ann Musich who was appointed last month to fill the unexpired term of James Gray and is a township committeeperson in Manalapan, was also sworn in for a three-year term. Christina Requa of Freehold Township, was also named to the Commission, replacing former Shrewsbury Mayor Donald Burden, and will be officially sworn in at the February meeting.

Swartz, a graduate of Barnard College, who also studied at Bryn Mawr and Douglass colleges, has served in numerous library positions on Institutes, museums, and libraries both in New Jersey and on national boards. A founding member and Chair of the NJ Center for the Book, and a member and chair of the NJ Library State Library Advisory Council, she has also served on the Institute of Museum and Library Services Board, a federal agency administering funds to approximately 140,000 libraries and museums, as well as the White House Conference on Aging, representing President George W. Bush in 2005. The chair was honored last year by the Commission when the children’s library at Eastern Branch library in Shrewsbury was named in her honor.

Commissioners Frank Wells of Union Beach was unanimously elected vice-chairman, Deputy Mayor Nancy Grbelja of Millstone named treasurer, and Grace Abramov of Howell, secretary.


We treat each of our patients as part of the family at Atlantic Highlands Animal Hospital. We offer top-quality surgical and dental treatments for cats and dogs. For the best pet care in the Atlantic Highlands, NJ, call us at (732) 291-4400.

The Monmouth County Library Commission maintains the 12 branches and headquarters libraries of the County Library system and includes 14-member libraries, all under the aegis of Judi Tolchin, executive Library Director and Heidi Amici, assistant Library Director.

Managers of each of the branches are Kim Avagliano, chief librarian at Eastern Branch, Jane Reynolds, Atlantic Highlands, Josephine Mayer, Allentown, Stephanie Laurino, Colts Neck, Mary Patterson, Hazlet, Karen Nealis, Holmdel, Beth Henderson, Howell, Stephenie Acosta, Marlboro, Diana Zambrano, Ocean, Barbara Eckert, Oceanport, Sue Domas, Wall and Kathleen Kenny, West Long Branch, NJ.

AHHerald relies on advertising to support our operations.
When you click an affiliate link we may earn a commission.

Muriel J. Smith

Muriel J Smith

Muriel J Smith an award-winning journalist, former newspaper editor, book author and historian, Her newest venture is her blog, in...