FREEHOLD, NJ – The Monmouth County Fire Academy graduated 60 volunteers from the Firefighter I program this past week. The graduates were trained in two separate classes, Nos. 88 and 89, and graduations ceremonies were held on Dec. 14 and 16, respectively.

Members of Class Nos. 88 and 89 attended weekend and evening classes at the Monmouth County Fire Academy in Howell and completed 164 hours of course work over 25 sessions. They received training in rescue, fire extinguishment, hazardous materials response, cardio-pulmonary resuscitation, electrical safety, and care of hoses, ladders and other equipment.


Firefighter I Class 89 award winners are (from left) Shimon Miller, George Streisel and Patrick O'Connor. Also pictured behind them are Freeholder John P. Curley (left) and county Fire Marshal Henry Stryker III.

“You are now part of one of American’s greatest creations – organized firefighting,” Freeholder John P. Curley said in his remarks to each of the graduating classes. “As graduates of this program you will embark on a rewarding path of public service on behalf of your friends, your neighbors and your community. Firefighting is more than a public service – it is a calling, a way of life. You cannot put a price on what you do because it is your reputation, your integrity, your life. May God protect you.”

The Ronald Fitzpatrick Award, named for a former instructor at the Fire Academy who died in the line of duty in 2003, was won in Class No. 88 by Ethan Frazee of the Brielle Fire Co. in recognition of his high test scores and attendance record. Frazee has been designated “Honor Graduate.”

In the Class No. 89, there was a three-way tie. For the first time three “Honor Graduate” awards were bestowed. Winners were Shimon Miller of the Adelphia Fire Co. in Howell, Patrick O’Connor of the Goodwill Fire Co. No. 2 in Spring Lake, and George Streisel of West Long Branch Fire Co. No. 1.

“These graduates are to be commended for their dedication and willingness to serve,” said William Itinger, chief training officer. “This class had some tough days and some good days. They are ready to provide a great service to their communities as they carry out their important duties.”

Firefighters in Class No. 88 were awarded certificates of course completion by Freeholder Curley, Chief Itinger and Deputy Fire Marshall Kevin Stout. Class No. 89 graduates received their certificates from Curley, Itinger and Fire Marshal Henry Stryker III.

Each year thousands of local firefighters receive training at the Monmouth County Fire Academy. Applications for the spring 2011 Firefighter I class are being accepted now. Classes will begin in February.

Class #88   Firefighter I graduates


Spenser Baker                                     Neptune - Liberty Fire Co.

Brian Bruno                                        Freehold Township Independent No. 1

Justin Carlsen                                    Wall Fire Co. No. 1

Cory Chapman                                    Aberdeen Hose & Chemical Co.

David Cohen                                       Ocean Township – Wanamassa

Ira Doubert                                         Allentown – Hope Fire Co.

Brian Fernandes                                 Englishtown

Nicholas Ferraro                                 Red Bank Hook & Ladder

Ethan Frazee                                       Brielle Fire Co.

Douglas Frueh                                    Manalapan Fire Co. No. 1

Michael Grainger                               Howell Township – Southard

David Ivins                                         Long Branch – Branchport

Christopher Jacobs                             Englishtown

John Jasman                                       Brielle Fire Co.

Matthew Karabin                                Howell Township – Southard

Michael Licata                                   Marlboro Fire Co.

Nikeya Miller                                      Red Bank – West Side Hose

Philip Pollen                                       Aberdeen Hose & Chemical Co.

Pasquale Principe                               Jackson No. 1

Ryan Reale                                         Englishtown

Charles Reevey                                   Neptune – Liberty Fire Co.

Daniel Rose                                        Manchester – Ridgeway Volunteer Fire Dept.

Tyler Scorben                                      Neptune – Shark River Hills

Martina Sherwood                              Jackson No. 1

Jonathan Spear                                   Manchester – Ridgeway Volunteer Fire Dept.

Randy Spencer                                    Neptune – Liberty Fire Co.

Mark Steidle                                       Union Beach – Union Gardens

Stephen Wall                                      Spring Lake Heights

Christopher Wolf                               Englishtown

Valen Zeltser                                      Marlboro – Robertsville


Class #89   Firefighter I graduates


Louis Arzola                           Highlands – Columbus Hose Co.

Jason Boege Jr.                      Farmingdale

Kate Campanella                    Marlboro – Robertsville Fire Co.

Michael Fantini                       Ocean Township – Wanamassa

Daniel Favaloro                      Marlboro – Robertsville Fire Co.

Christopher Fazio                  Holmdel Fire Co.

Robert Felmey                        South Wall Fire Co.

Matthew Hand                        West Long Branch No. 1

Brian Irwin                             Red Bank Independent Engine Co. No. 2

George Killeen Jr.                  Colts Neck No. 2

Dane Krauss                           Howell Township – Adelphia

Steven Loveland                     Freehold Boro Engine No. 1

Christopher Marron                Howell Township – Adelphia

Adam Mayer                           Matawan – Midway Hose

Shimon Miller                          Howell Township – Adelphia

Joseph Nappi                          Marlboro – Robertsville Fire Co.

Patrick O’Connor                   Spring Lake – Goodwill Fire No. 2

Edward Perez                          Holmdel Fire & Rescue

Carlos Pernett                         Keansburg – New Point Comfort

Flavio Pinheiro                       Marlboro – Robertsville Fire Co.

Logan Rafferty                       South Wall Fire Co.

Pamela Reichardt-Mundell    Monmouth Beach Fire Co.

Nicholas Ruane                      Atlantic Highlands Engine Co.

Zoe Shaheen                           West Long Branch No. 1

Ilir Shunda                              Manasquan Engine No. 2

Roger Smith                           Allentown – Hope Fire Co.

Matthew Spadaro                   Marlboro – Robertsville Fire Co.

Timothy Steger                       Manasquan Engine Co. No. 2

George Streisel                       West Long Branch No. 1

William Wackowski              Point Pleasant Beach No. 2