Area election highlights:

Incumbent Rush Holt (D) wins in the 12th District 96,886 (52%) over Republican Scott Sipprelle 85,991 (47%)

Incumbent Frank Pallone, Jr. (D) wins in the 6th Congressional District 75,898 (54%) over 61,557 votes for Republican Anna Little (45%)

Republicans Incumbent Robert Clifton (97,530) and Thomas A. Arnone (99,158) win Freeholder seats over Incumbent Democrat John D'Amico, Jr. (64,053) and Janice Venables (64, 268)

Republican Shaun Golden (100,583) wins a full term as Sheriff over Democrat Eric Brophy (63,565)

Middletown Republicans Gerard P. Scharfenberger (11,695)  Kevin Settembrino (11,588) over Democrats Sean F. Byrnes (9,185) and Mary Mahoney (8,847)

Highlands elects Republican Frank L. NOLAN as Mayor with (584) votes - Christopher Francy (530) - Ryan M. Britton (465)

Republican sweep in Atlantic Highlands. Louis Fligor (1,004) and Jacob "Jake" Hoffman (928) re-elected to council over Eileen F. Cusack (693) and Rita C. Eaton (664)

Sea Bright  Republicans Peggy Bills (291) and Brian Kelly (323) win over Democrats Margaret C. Fisher (205) and Marc A. Leckstein (184)

Rumson Republicans Joan P. De Voe (1,805) and Joseph K. Hemphill (1806) win over Democrats Michael Steinhorn (697) and Philip Wagner (654)

Fair Haven Republican Mayor Michael I. Halfacre (1466) running unopposed.

Fair Haven Republicans Jon Peters (1480) and Rowland Wilhelm (1448) won Council seats unopposed.

Little Silver Republicans Robert C. Neff, JR. (1757) and Stuart Van Winkle (1745) win Council seats unopposed.

Red Bank Democrat Mayor Pasquale Menna (1792) running unopposed.

Red Bank Democrats Kathleen A. Horgan (1479) and Sharon Lee (1447) won over Republicans Joseph Mizzi (1317) and Robert J. Lombardi (1298)

Union Beach Republicans Robert M. Howard, Jr. (880) and Victor A. Tuberion (859) win full terms over Democrats Patrick Conklin (490) and Mark Koenig (476)  One year term is won by David H. Estelle (968) unopposed.

Keyport Republican Robert E. Mc Leod (1146) wins the Mayor's seat over Democratic Incumbent Robert J. Bergen (1021)

Keyport Republicans Evelyn Ambrose (1135) and Clemente Toglia (1103) win Council seats over Democrats Kenneth McPeek(1006) and Joy-Michele J. Tomczak (1011)