FREEHOLD, NJ – The Monmouth County Fire Academy graduated 36 volunteers from the Firefighter I program. The ceremony was held May 20.

Members of Class No. 86 attended weekend classes at the Monmouth County Fire Academy in Howell and completed 164 hours of course work over 24 sessions. They received training in rescue, fire extinguishment, hazardous materials response, cardio-pulmonary resuscitation, electrical safety, and care of hoses, ladders and other equipment.

“Perfecting your skills is very important, because you are the ones who are running into the burning buildings when everyone else is running out,” said Freeholder Emeritus Ted Narozanick, who addressed the graduating class on behalf of the Monmouth County Board of Chosen Freeholders.

“As volunteers, your achievements are even more impressive since you work full time jobs, support your families, and volunteer in your spare time,” Narozanick continued. “Not easy to do, but most appreciated. Thanks is also extended to your families, because without their support and assistance you would not be able to volunteer your time to help others.”

Frank Bohn of East Freehold Fire Company wins Ronald Fitzpatrick Award.

The Ronald Fitzpatrick Award, named for a former instructor at the Fire Academy who died in the line of duty in 2003, was won by Frank Bohn of East Freehold Fire Company in recognition of his high test scores and perfect attendance. Bohn has been designated “Honor Graduate.”

“These firefighter graduates are to be commended for their dedication and willingness to serve,” said William Itinger, chief training officer. “This class had some tough days and some good days. They are ready to provide a great service to their communities as they carry out their important duties.”

Firefighter I Class 86

Each firefighter was awarded a certificate of course completion by former Freeholder Narozanick, Chief Itinger and county Fire Marshal Henry Stryker III.

Each year thousands of local firefighters receive training at the county Fire Academy. Applications for the next Firefighter I class are due at the Monmouth County Fire Academy administration office by Aug. 1. Classes will begin in September.


#     #     #


A list of the graduates is attached.

Class #86   Firefighter I graduates


Matthew Armstrong                           Wanamassa Fire Company

Travis Bauman                                   Hazlet Fire Company

Frank Bohn                                         East Freehold

Brian Cahill                                        Tinton Falls Fire Company #1

Cody Child                                         Goodwill Hose Company

Luke Dalbero                                      Squankum Fire Company

Meghan Dering                                   Goodwill Hose Company

Bryan DeWindt                                  West Keansburg Fire Company #1

Mason DiGiamo                                 East Freehold

Taylor Doremus                                 Red Bank Fire Department

Gary DuBois                                       Wayside Fire Company

William Isetts                                     Ramtown

David Jacobs                                      Glendola Fire Company

Scott Kennedy                                  Cheesequake Volunteer Fire Company

John Klubnick                                    Squankum Fire Company

Frank Martuscelli                               Neptune/Shark River Hills

Sean McDonagh                                 Glendola Fire Company

Kevin McGee                                     Shrewsbury Hose Company

Shawn Mery                                       Little Silver Fire Company

Keith Morgan                                     Farmingdale Fire Department

Colin Murphy                                     Ramtown

Thomas Murray, III                            Hazlet Fire Company #1

Mitchell O’Neill                               Southard

Thomas Orgo, 3rd Colts Neck Fire Department

Douglas Rehm                                Colts Heck #2

Owen Rosenthal                             Shark River Hills

Charles Sacco                               Manalapan Township Fire Department

Greg Schlecter                               Colts Neck Fire Department #1

Joseph Senkeleski                         Little Silver Fire Company

Michael Small                                  Eatontown Fire Department

Joseph Smigelsky                         Ramtown

Greg Tomaino                                 Northside Engine Company #4

Paul Tonacci                                  Colts Neck #2

Kevin Tormey                                 Robertsville

Ernest Vaughan, Jr.                      Atlantic Highlands Hose Company #2

John Web                                      Colts Neck Fire Department #1