FREEHOLD, NJ – The Monmouth County Fire Academy graduated 32 volunteers from the Firefighter I program. The ceremony was held May 18.

Members of Class No. 85 attended weekend classes at the Monmouth County Fire Academy in Howell and completed 164 hours of course work over 24 sessions. They received training in rescue, fire extinguishment, hazardous materials response, cardio-pulmonary resuscitation, electrical safety, and care of hoses, ladders and other equipment.

Fire Academy graduate Natalie Manco with (from left) Steve Fitzpatrick, Monmouth County Fire Marshal Henry Stryker III, Freeholder John P. Curley, Kevin Fitzpatrick and Chief Instructor William Itinger. Natalie received the first Ronald Fitzpatrick Award, which was presented by his two sons.

“As graduates of this program you will embark on a rewarding path of public service on behalf of your friends, your neighbors and your community,” Freeholder John P. Curley said in his address to the class. “By virtue of becoming a volunteer firefighter you have already gone above and beyond the call of duty. Be assured it is not something we forget or take lightly. I congratulate each and every one of you.”

“All of you will be tested in a way most people cannot imagine,” Curley continued. “I am confident you will pass that test due to the training you received here at this academy by these fine instructors. You will answer the call and place your lives on the line to save someone else’s life and property, because that is what you are trained to do. We owe you our gratitude and respect.”

New this year was an award in honor of Ronald Fitzpatrick, a former instructor at the Fire Academy who died in 2003. The award, presented by his son, Steve Fitzpatrick, went to graduate Natalie Manco of Neptune in recognition of her high test scores and perfect attendance.

“These firefighter graduates are to be commended for their dedication and willingness to serve,” said William Itinger, chief training officer. “This class had some tough days and some good days. They are ready to provide a great service to their communities as they carry out their important duties.”

Each firefighter was awarded a certificate of course completion by Freeholder Curley, Chief Itinger and county Fire Marshal Henry Stryker III.

Each year thousands of local firefighters receive training at the county Fire Academy. Application for the next Firefighter I class is due at the Monmouth County Fire Academy administration office by August 15.  Classes begin the second week of September 2009.


#     #     #


A list of the graduates is attached.

Class #85   Firefighter I graduates


Joseph Addeo                         Eatontown Fire Department

Christopher Ambrosino          Freewood Acres

Brianna Blackler                    West Long Branch

Christopher Bray                    Gordon’s Corner

Tommy Cangialosi                 West Long Branch

Joseph Colon                          Freehold Township Independent

Vito DelCore                          Morganville Independent

Andrew DiChiara                   West Long Branch

Ryan Dullea                            Manasquan Hook & Ladder

James Gallo, Jr.                      Oceanport

Ryan Gunsauls                        Union Beach

Carlos Habon                          Union Beach

Adam Hubeny                         Atlantic Highlands Fire Department

Brian Kalarjian                       Holmdel Fire & Rescue

Kevin Keane                           Freehold Township Independent

Jeffrey King                            Hazlet Fire Company #1

Natalie Manco                      Neptune Fire Department

Ryan Marinella                       East Freehold

John Merris                            Shrewsbury Hose Company #1

Chuck Mobus                         Keansburg Fire Company

Roberto Muolo                       Oceanic – Long Branch

Stefan Oliver                          West Long Branch

Frank Pinto                             Union Beach

Alyssa Marie Pittas                Robertsville Fire Company

Matthew Podolla                    Morganville Independent

Michael Rodriguez                 Sandy Hook Fire Department

Richard Rogalski                    Ocean Grove – Stokes

Zachary Roslin                       Shrewsbury Hose Company #1

David Simon                           East Freehold

Ryan Tobias                            Millstone Township Fire Company

John Toutounchi                     Freehold Township #1

Matthew Wills                         Morganville Independent