Board will analyze county fiscal management and make recommendations

FREEHOLD, NJ – The Monmouth County Board of Chosen Freeholders has established a budget advisory group to identify cost savings and potential revenue increases for county operations, programs and services.

“This group will take a detailed look at the county budget and the services the county provides,” Freeholder Director Lillian G. Burry said. “This is a time when we must sharpen our pencils and be sure we are providing necessary services with efficient processes and balanced fiscal impacts.”

The group has 14 members lead by Freeholder Director Burry and Deputy Director Robert D. Clifton.  The group also includes citizen members, the county administrator, finance director and other key county staff.

“Our efforts will focus on identifying financial elements and overall process enhancements that can be applied to future budget processes,” said Vince Domidion of Colts Neck, a citizen representative who will serve as chairman of the group.

The group is charged with providing the freeholders with economic advice based on analysis that cuts across established departmental parameters and gathering data from various sources to provide perspectives that will help the Board make choices that will enhance the economic future of the county over the short, medium and long term.

The freeholders established a similar task force panel in 2007. Domidion and Joseph M. Annecharico of Avon served on that task force.

The new Budget Advisory Group is expected to make ongoing recommendations to the Board of Chosen Freeholders.

Members of the county’s “Budget Advisory Group” are:

Lillian G. Burry, Monmouth County Freeholder Director

Robert D. Clifton, Monmouth County Freeholder and liaison to Finance Dept.

Joseph Annecharico, Avon, Citizen Representative

Vince Domidion, III, Colts Neck, Citizen Representative

Stan Rosenthal, Holmdel, Citizen Representative

Teri O’Connor, County Administrator

Charles S. Brown, III, administrative department director, Human Services

John Ciufo, administrative department director, Planning, Economic Development & Regulatory Affairs

Matthew S. Clark, Tax Board Administrator

Gabrielle Lehne, Program Development Specialist

Craig R. Marshall, Finance representative

Gerri C. Popkin, Director of Purchasing

Jeff W. Sauter, Law Enforcement representative

James J. Truncer, Director of the Monmouth County Park System