mc fire academy devosa class106photo: Ryan Devosa of Ramtown Fire Company in Howell is presented with the Class 106 Ronald Fitzpatrick Firefighter 1 Award at the Monmouth County Fire Academy graduation on June 23, 2015 in Howell, NJ. Pictured left to right:  Fire Academy Director Armand Guzzi, Ryan Devosa, Monmouth County Fire Marshal Henry Stryker III and Freeholder John P. Curley.

HOWELL, NJ – The Monmouth County Fire Academy graduated 39 firefighters from the Firefighter I program this week at the Fire Academy on Route 33. Graduates were divided into two classes: Class 106 graduated June 23 and Class 107 graduated June 24.

All of the graduating firefighters worked 188 hours over 30 sessions and received training in rescue, fire extinguishment, hazardous materials response, cardio-pulmonary resuscitation, electrical safety, and care of hoses, ladders and other equipment.

“Firefighting is more than public service or volunteerism – it is a calling, a way of life. You cannot put a price on it. It is your reputation, your integrity, your life,” Freeholder John P. Curley said in his address to the classes. “Every day from this day forward you are now firefighters. You have earned our respect. On behalf of Monmouth County and the entire Board of Chosen Freeholders, I thank you.”

A graduate from each class earned an award in honor of Ronald Fitzpatrick, a former instructor at the Fire Academy who died in 2003. The awards went to Ryan Devosa, Class 106 of Ramtown Fire Company in Howell and Justin Lee, Class 107 of the Robertsville Fire Company in Marlboro.

Monmouth County Fire Marshal Henry Stryker III congratulated the graduates and urged them to continue their training with advanced courses offered at the Fire Academy.

“It takes a special type of person to be a firefighter,” Stryker said. “They have to have a passion to do this job. The graduates sitting before us have that passion because they have completed the rigorous training as their first step. Please be safe.”

“By virtue of becoming a volunteer firefighter you have already gone above and beyond the call of duty. Be assured it is not something we forget or take lightly,” said Curley “You all are a credit to Monmouth County and to the towns and people you serve.”

Each year thousands of local firefighters receive training at the County Fire Academy. For more information about the County Fire Academy visit


A list of graduate from each class is below:


Firefighter 1 – Class 106

Joe A. Accurso                        Sea Girt Fire Company

Chris Beringer                         Oakhurst Fire Company

Roger A. Boretsky                  Morganville Independent Fire Company

Alexander R. Caden               Keyport Fire Department

Ryan T. Carr                           Gordon’s Corner Fire Company

Tyler T. DeBoer                      Atlantic Highlands Fire Department

Ryan A. Devosa                      Ramtown Fire Company

Joseph E. Eadicicco                Ramtown Fire Company

Joseph P. Gleason                   Long Branch Fire Department

Kevin C. Kelly Jr.                   Deal Fire Department

James Kumpf                          Sea Girt Fire Company

Matthew C. Lawson               Roosevelt Fire Company

Qua’dry W. Lyons                  Neptune Township Fire Department

Sean P. McBride                     Keyport Fire Department

Christopher J. Ryan                Spring Lake Fire Department

Shalen A. Shivalkar                Colts Neck Fire Department

Anthony M. Simone               West Keansburg Fire Company

Christopher J. Zmuda             Ramtown Fire Company


Firefighter 1 – Class 107

Grayson A. Asprocolas           Roosevelt Fire Company

James G. Asprocolas               Roosevelt Fire Company

Brett D. Bodner                      Hazlet Fire Company

Nicholas A. Briggs                  New Point Comfort Fire Company

Nicholas R. Colalilo                Wanamassa Fire Company

Santos A. Colindres                Red Bank Fire Department

Thomas J. Coniglio                 East Freehold Fire Company

Joseph R. Defeo                      Brielle Fire Company

Robert L. Haines                     Hazlet Fire Company

Matthew T. Hamilton             Eatontown Fire Department

William M. Harrigan               Marlboro Fire Company

Austin Higgins                        Ramtown Fire Company

Justin D. Lee                           Robertsville Fire Company

Dylan T. Madonna                  Spring Lake Heights Fire Department

Cheyne M. Meseroll                Brielle Fire Company

Benjamin W. Meseroll            Brielle Fire Company

Jennifer M. Nance                   Union Beach Fire Department

Joseph D. Piccolo                    Marlboro Fire Company

David R. Reiff                          Gordon’s Corner Fire Company

Sal Santoro                              Southard Fire Company

Cole W. VanDevelde              Northside Engine Company