Free testing of soil and dust to determine the presence of lead

FREEHOLD, NJ – Monmouth County residents who may be concerned about the presence of lead around their home can contact the Monmouth County Health Department for a free testing of residential soil and dust.

“Many of our communities were hit hard by Superstorm Sandy and may have increased levels of lead.” said Freeholder John P. Curley, liaison to the County Health Department. “Here is a free service for residents that may want to have the soil and dust around their homes checked for lead.”

If you are interested in having your residence tested, contact the Monmouth County Health Department at 732 431-7456 ext. 8587.

“Large areas of Monmouth County were affected by Sandy’s storm surge and flooding, resulting in significant amounts of sediment being redistributed,” said Christopher Merkel, Monmouth County’s Public Health Coordinator. “These areas must be tested to prevent any negative health effects on those who live and work in or near them.”

Studies conducted after Hurricane Katrina found that there is a potential for increased hazards from environmental lead contamination that may cause an increase in elevated blood lead levels in individuals living or working in lead contaminated areas.

The Health Department will be taking samples in the various communities. If lead dust is found, educational materials and guidance will be provided on the proper cleanup methods.

“It is important for the County to do whatever we can to maintain the health and safety of our residents and the environment in Monmouth County,” said Curley.

This initiative is funded through a New Jersey Department of Health Superstorm Sandy Recovery Grant and is offered to the residents in the towns served by the Monmouth County Health Department.

The Monmouth County Health Department provides public health services for residents of the following towns: Aberdeen, Allentown, Asbury Park, Atlantic Highlands, Avon, Belmar, Bradley Beach, Englishtown, Eatontown, Farmingdale, Hazlet, Holmdel, Howell, Keansburg, Keyport, Lake Como, Manasquan, Marlboro, Matawan, Millstone, Neptune Township, Neptune City, Oceanport, Ocean Grove, Roosevelt, Shrewsbury Township and Union Beach.