mc jeandron clayton awardAngel and Jack Jeandronto receive 2014 Jane G. Clayton Award

MANALAPAN, NJ – Monmouth County Clerk M. Claire French has announced that Angel and Jack Jeandron of Keyport have been selected to receive the 2014 Jane G. Clayton Award at Monmouth County Archives and History Day on Saturday, Oct. 11 at the Monmouth County Library Headquarters.

“Traditionally there is only one winner of the Clayton Award and although Angel and Jack were nominated separately, they are both deserving of this recognition of their achievements,” said French. “I look forward to presenting the award to both of them on Archives and History Day.” 

The Jeandrons were founding members of the Keyport Historical Society where they have been volunteers for more than 40 years. They are widely respected for their diligent efforts to preserve and promote knowledge of the history of Keyport. 

Jack Jeandron was building chairman for the KeyportSteamboatDockMuseum, which opened in 1976. He has been Keyport Borough Historian and the Historical Society Historian for more than 20 years, and published “Keyport: From Plantation to Center of Commerce and Industry” in 2003. 

Angel Jeandron has been the long-term curator of the KeyportSteamboatDockMuseum and its 4,000 items.

The Museum building was destroyed in 2012 during Superstorm Sandy but many objects were rescued and put into storage. The Jeandrons have been actively involved in the recovery effort, including establishing a new home for the Museum.

“These are but a few of the Jeandron’s many achievements that have enhanced the preservation of historic buildings and enabled public history education and programs,” added French.

Created in 1997, the Jane G. Clayton Award honors individuals who, over a substantial number of years, have made exceptional contributions to the awareness, understanding or preservation of MonmouthCounty history. The award is named after former County Clerk Jane G. Clayton, who was responsible for the creation of the Monmouth County Archives.

Past winners of the Clayton award include Cheryl Cook, Wayne T. Bell Jr., George Moss, Mary Lou Strong, Louise Jost, Wesley Banse, Douglas Foulks, Gail Hunton, Michael Adelberg, Lee Ellen Griffith, Flora Higgins, Gerald Ceres, Karen Schnitzspahn, Lydia Wikoff, Garry Wheeler Stone, Edward J. Raser and Joseph G. Bilby.

For more information on Archives and History Day, visit the Monmouth County website at

The Oct. 11 event is free and open to the public. For more information, please contact Shelagh Reilly by phone, 732-308-3771, or by e-mail, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..