COLTS NECK—  Thank you. These words are always lovely to hear and even nicer to be shown.  On Sunday, March 2, it was the Monmouth County Park System’s turn to show its appreciation during its Annual Volunteer Recognition Ceremony at Hominy Hill Golf Course, Colts Neck.   During the event, Park System staff honored 1,222 volunteers who gave 25,392 hours assisting with recreation programs, special events and park facilities.

These volunteers can be found lending a helping hand throughout the year.  They serve as historic site interpreters, trip and program leaders, and office assistants.  Many volunteers like to roll up their sleeves and help maintain trails and gardens.  Others assist in monitoring endangered bird species or with beach clean-ups.   Some are part of the Park System’s docent project where they greet and help park visitors. Volunteers are also integral to the success of the Park System’s therapeutic horseback riding lessons and special events such as Earth Day, Thompson Park Day and the Monmouth County Fair.  

These are just some of the ways volunteers help the Park System. The ceremony allows Park System staff to recognize the time, talent and energy volunteers freely give.  Coordinator of Volunteers Melissa Kelly thanked them, “We know we couldn’t do what we do without the assistance of our volunteer staff…your dedicated support, energy, and enthusiasm.  It means so much to us all.”

Here’s a list of volunteers who were recognized for giving more than 40 hours in 2013:

Talya R. Acherman, Marlboro 

Pam Adams, Middletown 

Zachary J. Alexander, Red Bank 

Trina Anderson, Red Bank 

Valerie Andrewlevich, Tinton Falls 

Andrew Antoniolli, Brielle 

Mary R. Baechle, Hazlet 

Jim Baye, Ocean 

Patricia Bernstein, Colonia 

Benjamin A. Berube, Sea Girt 

Lois E. Blake, Colts Neck 

Laura K. Boyle, Hazlet 

Christine Bremseth, Tinton Falls 

Sandy Burn, Red Bank  

Mary Byrne, Middletown 

Emma Caccavale, Highlands 

Stephanie Camp, Neptune 

Sharon Capriotti, Tinton Falls 

Rebecca E. Carhart, Port Monmouth 

Barbara Carroll, Colts Neck 

Anne M. Caruso, Long Branch 

Elizabeth M. Clarke, Tinton falls 

John P. Connors, Ocean 

Linda Csernica, Little Silver 

Kathleen Culver, Red Bank 

Stacy Curro, Atlantic Highlands 

Judy Curry-Phipps, Atlantic Highlands 

Eric Dalton, Keyport 

Darlene A. DeBarba, Fair Haven 

Ean D. Delehanty, West Long Branch 

Anthony DiSpirito III, Middletown 

Hannah B. Eareckson, Brielle 

Deborah Elsinger, Shrewsbury 

Ilona Fallon, Hazlet 

Carol D. Fornwald, Long Branch 

Barry Fulmer, Freehold 

Cheryl Fulmer, Freehold 

Ruth Gariepy, Hazlet  

James R. Gault, Hazlet 

Loma L. Gault, Hazlet 

Victoria Gercher, Howell 

Brandon L. Gioggia, Belford 

Julienne Goldfine, West Long Branch 

Raymond D. Gonzalez, West Long Branch 

Jayson Gonzalez-Goldstein, Marlboro 

Kasey A. Goon, Marlboro 

Susan L. Halle, Middletown 

Donna C. Hansen, Freehold 

Lisa A. Haskell, Fair Haven 

Emily E. Hassell, Aberdeen 

Patricia M. Hauser, Aberdeen 

Amanda Hintelmann, Rumson 

Stephanie Marie Hunt, Neptune 

Richard A. Huntington, Old Bridge 

Andrew Imperiale, Sea Girt  

Mayah J. Irizarry, Long Branch 

Anusha Kallakuri, Holmdel 

Nadide F. Karacay, Wall Township 

Andrew W. Karlan, Freehold 

Sherri Keenan, Highlands  

Rose A. Keiser, Manalapan 

Roberta Kilduff, Middletown 

Sherry A. Kosberg, Shrewsbury 

Emma Krall, Middletown 

Katha A. Larity, West Keansburg 

Amelia E. Lautenberg, Holmdel 

Linda Lawton,Eatontown  

Elizabeth G. Lilleston, Navesink 

Daniel H. Lingelbach, Navesink  

Jeanette Lingelbach, Navesink 

Michael J. Loeffler, Matawan 

Haley Mander, Holmdel 

Maury Mangan, Oceanport 

Lynne E. Martocci, Tinton Falls 

Elaine A. McColgan, Middletown 

Patrice McCoy, Freehold 

Kim W. McCracken, Red Bank 

Nancy Meagher, Middletown 

Phillip M. Mejia, Long Branch  

Kathleen A. Melnykevich, Tinton Falls 

Christina Minakakis, Long Branch 

George Minakakis, Long Branch 

Bonnie Muir, Long Branch 

Janice Mundy, Freehold 

Eileen Murphy, Red Bank 

Dawn Nahory, Lincroft 

Stephanie J. Nolan, Eatontown 

Emily E. O'Connor, Hazlet 

Kaylyn Ann O'Gara, Morganville 

Morgan E. Plosica, Monmouth Beach 

Arturo J. Poznanski, Middletown 

April C. Qin, Holmdel 

Ashley L. Reha, Freehold 

Patricia A. Richter, Red Bank 

Teddy Rieman, Rumson 

Howard Rockhill, Spring Lake Heights 

Daniela Rodriguez-Luna, Tinton Falls 

Gail C. Sanderson, Lincroft 

Brea E. Saunders, Laurence Harbor 

Marlis Schlegel-Steadman, Rumson  

Christine Scott, Neptune 

Patricia K. Sherwood, Keansburg 

Ellen Simonetti, Morganville 

Matthew R. Smith, Little Silver 

Ashley E. Stillwagon, Eatontown 

Jason M. Stone, Port Monmouth 

Alex Sundt, Red Bank 

Dianne L. Swenson, Highlands 

Ellen B. Terry, Millstone 

Gail B. Tewell, Matawan 

Patricia A. Thul, Eatontown 

Barbara L. Trouwborst, Ocean Grove 

Daniel L. Tutler, Belford 

Ann K. Tvaroha, Fair Haven 

Elizabeth S. Vandor, Tarrytown NY

Sandra Wolfe, Howell 

Emma M. Wulfhorst, Tinton Falls 

Richard A. Yackel, Red Bank 


Volunteers who gave over 100 hours are:

Werner Aehlich, Holmdel 

Theresa J. Astmann, Red Bank 

Janet L. Breslin, Jackson 

Marvin Britten, Middletown 

Nina Casola, Holmdel 

Jack T. Curry, Roosevelt

Louise DelCollo, Colts Neck  

Barbara Duggan, Freehold 

Harvey Evans, Tinton Falls 

Barbara A. Finazzo, Jackson 

Natalie J. Fishlin, Holmdel 

Harden Fowler, Tinton Falls  

Jonela R. Grimaldi, Middletown 

Julia Guercio, Red Bank 

Rebecca Gwinnell, Lincroft 

James Henry, Lincroft 

Joyce Henry, Lincroft  

Liz Hespe, Middletown 

Bridget Marie Jones, Manasquan

Danielle Nicole Kaden, Holmdel 

Megan M. Kane, Holmdel 

Isabell A. Linde, Red Bank 

Gerry Lingner, Long Branch 

Lois Lyons, Tinton Falls  

Ralph Maratea, Lakewood 

Corinne H. Mazzocchi, Wall 

Richard B. Merker, Middletown 

Catherine Merker, Middletown 

Barry I. Miller, Middletown  

William Murphy,Red Bank 

Leslie Neiman, Belford 

Frank Nofi, Manalapan

Alex Osnato, North Middletown   

Deborah A. Palumbo, Monmouth Beach 

Linda A. Rovder, Monmouth Beach 

Ashley Seyglinski, Robbinsville 

Eleanor C. Swanson, Long Branch 

Margo Thornton, Tinton Falls 

Barbara A. Venanzini, Matawan  

Gerald A. Vernon, Jr., Fair Haven 

Thomas E. Walters, West Long Branch 

Elaine M. Weigl, Howell 

To learn about Park System Volunteers, please visit or call 732-842-4000. For persons with hearing impairment, the TTY/TDD number is 711. The Monmouth County Park System, created in 1960 by the Monmouth County Board of Chosen Freeholders, is Monmouth County’s Open Space, Parks and Recreation agency.