mc firefighters honored wreath

PHOTO: Freeholder John P. Curley (right) carries the wreath for the Fallen Firefighters Memorial with Fire Marshal Henry A. Stryker III.

Valiant efforts in 2012 included Superstorm Sandy

HOWELL, NJ – In a solemn memorial service at the Monmouth County Fire Academy on Oct. 6, County officials joined firefighters from around Monmouth County to remember the 44 men and women who have lost their lives in the line of firefighting duty, and congratulate those who were awarded citations for bravery this past year.

“No matter what time of day or night that alarm goes off, you answer the call to serve,” Freeholder John P. Curley told the firefighters and their families. “Some answered that call and never returned home. Today, we honor their memories and continue our pledge to never forget.”

Curley also thanked the families of the firefighters for their support and sacrifice as well.


The memorial and awards ceremony was led by the Monmouth County Fire Marshal’s Office, and included placing a wreath in honor of the 44 firefighters from Monmouth County fire companies who died in the line of duty. As each name was read, backed by the ringing of a bell, a red carnation was placed at the foot of the flag pole and a salute offered by family members and firefighters.

After honoring the fallen, Curley, Freeholder Director Thomas A. Arnone and Fire Marshal Henry A. Stryker III awarded Unit Citations and Medals of Valor for rescue and firefighting efforts during the past year.

mc firefighters honored lewis keyport first aid

PHOTO: Lisa Lewis (center) of Keyport is pictured with Freeholder Director Thomas A. Arnone (far right), family members and the Keyport first responders that saved her life and received certificates of recognition.

“This year we recognized several crews of first responders who assisted with Superstorm Sandy,” Arnone said. “Our coastal and Bayshore communities felt the brunt of Sandy and these responders worked tirelessly to assist their residents. We are grateful for your service.”

Special recognition was given to 11 County Public Works and Engineering employees for their efforts to rescue more than 350 residents in Union Beach, Belmar and Lake Como.

“They are all special and dedicated individuals,” Stryker said. “They are people who, without hesitation, left the safety and security of their families and homes and answered the call - during Superstorm Sandy and throughout the rest of the year. They often place their own lives on the line while working to save the lives and property of others. These firefighters, first responders and County employees are truly heroes and we honor them and cheer for them.”

Freeholder Curley, who is the freeholder liaison to the Fire Academy, added, “we are one family here in Monmouth County. We have a magnificent fire academy that trains our firefighters in the latest equipment and actions to take. We will continue on as the as the finest firefighting department in the state, if not the nation.” 

Attendees included Monmouth County Sheriff Shaun Golden, Assemblyman David P. Rible and Assemblywoman Mary Pat Angelini.

* A list of award recipients is attached:

2013 Award Recipients

Valor awards were presented to the following:

Chief Brian Prochnow, Adelphia Fire Company #2, Howell Twp.

First Assistant Chief Robert Tice, Adelphia Fire Company #2, Howell Twp.

Firefighter Shimon Miller, Adelphia Fire Company #2, Howell Twp.

Lieutenant Andrew Murphy, Sea Bright Fire Department

Firefighter Jacob Simon, Sea Bright Fire Department

Firefighter Tom Gavin, Deal Fire Department


Certificates of recognition were presented to the following:

Patrolman Chris Fisler, Sea Bright Police Department

Patrolman Nicholas Vaccaro, Deal Police Department

Captain Mike Nevitt, Keyport First Aid

First Lieutenant Dan Neff, Keyport First Aid

EMT Connor Daukshus, Keyport First Aid

EMT Darnell McDonald, Keyport First Aid

EMT Jessica Walling, Keyport First Aid

EMT Amanda Wycoff, Keyport First Aid

Unit Citations were awarded to the following:

Sea Bright Fire Department

Keyport Fire Department

Morganville Independent Fire Company, Marlboro

Oak Shades Hose & Chemical, Aberdeen

Holmdel Fire Company #1

Holmdel Fire Company #2

Cliffwood Volunteer Fire Company, Aberdeen

Union Beach Fire Company

Union Hose Fire Company, Union Beach

Union Gardens Fire Company, Union Beach

Harris Gardens Fire Company, Union Beach

Special recognition was given to:

Monmouth County Department of Public Works & Engineering employees Joseph M. Grasso, Michael J. Rigby, Marc J. Metzinger, David T. Milmoe, Ronald J. Boyce, Nicholas I. Killmer, Daniel Adler, David G. Hanisch, Kenneth A. Fahnholz, Gary Fread and Donald Holmes.