mc cheryl cook clayton award 2013Cheryl A. Cook of Freehold announced as the winner of the 2013 Jane G. Clayton Award.

FREEHOLD, NJ – Monmouth County Clerk M. Claire French has announced that Cheryl A. Cook of Freehold has been selected to receive the 2013 Jane G. Clayton Award.

Cook will be presented with the Jane Clayton Award on Archives and History Day, which will be held on Saturday, Oct. 12 at the Monmouth County Library Headquarters in Manalapan.

“Without question, Cheryl Cook is deserving of this recognition of her achievements,” said French. “I look forward to presenting the award to her on Archives and History Day.” 

Since her retirement as Head of Collection Development for the Monmouth County Library in 1999, Cook has worked diligently to preserve and enhance historical resources in FreeholdTownship.  She created a museum for Early Childhood Education at the West Freehold Schoolhouse in 1999. 

Cook then spent several years establishing the Oakley Farm Museum that opened in 2002.  More than 15 Eagle Scouts have done their projects at the farm, which includes the entire contents of a 19th century village blacksmith shop Cook acquired from the Vanderveer family. 

In 2003, Cook played a leadership role in the founding of the Freehold Township Heritage Society, which raises funds for preservation projects, including the restoration of the Georgia Road Schoolhouse that reopened in 2010. 

Cook also was instrumental in creating a museum at the Solomon property now located in Mount’s Corner Shopping Center.  The Barn is now the home of the Jewish Heritage Museum of Monmouth County, founded in 2006. 

“These are but a few of Cook’s many achievements that have enhanced the preservation of historic buildings and enabled public history education and programs,” added French.

Created in 1997, the Jane G. Clayton Award honors individuals who, over a substantial number of years, have made exceptional contributions to the awareness, understanding or preservation of MonmouthCounty history. The award is named after former County Clerk Jane G. Clayton, who was responsible for the creation of the Monmouth County Archives.

Past winners of the award include Wayne T. Bell Jr., George Moss, Mary Lou Strong, Louise Jost, Wesley Banse, Douglas Foulks, Gail Hunton, Michael Adelberg, Lee Ellen Griffith, Flora Higgins, Gerald Ceres, Karen Schnitzspahn, Lydia Wikoff, Garry Wheeler Stone, Edward J. Raser and Joseph G. Bilby.

For more information on Archives and History Day, visit the Monmouth County website at

The Oct. 12 event is free and open to the public. For more information, please contact Shelagh Reilly by phone, 732-308-3771, or by e-mail, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..