BOGOTA, NJ – Americans for Prosperity, the state’s leading grassroots, free-market organization, released its Midterm Taxpayer Scorecard for the 2012-2013 legislative session today and the results for taxpayers are ominous according to the group.

“The Democratic-led Legislature remains 180 degrees off course and is accelerating the state’s downward economic spiral through an incessant Big Government agenda of stifling regulations, misguided environmental and social engineering schemes, higher taxes and spending, and ever-increasing debt,” said Mike Proto, AFP communication director and overseer of the group’s Taxpayer Scorecard.

“New Jersey is rapidly approaching its own fiscal cliff,” added Proto. “The Democratic-led Legislature seems to be in total denial of New Jersey’s fiscal condition. A lot of rhetoric is tossed around about growing our economy, creating jobs and getting our fiscal house in order. Yet, the Democratic majority continues to push the very same borrow, tax, and spend agenda which has the state hurtling toward an economic and budgetary precipice.”

“New Jersey is in desperate need of a strong dose of fiscal responsibility; drastic spending cuts and a pro-growth economic strategy in order to bring prosperity back to the Garden State and avoid insolvency. But that can only happen if the current leadership starts to come to terms with reality and completely reverses course.”

The Taxpayer Scorecard is the state’s premier fiscal scorecard, rating all 40 New Jersey senators and 80 assemblymen/women in the State House across an array of legislation affecting New Jersey taxpayers. The Midterm Taxpayer Scorecard for the 2012-2013 legislative session includes 25 measures, among them the $31.74 billion state budget, two job-killing minimum-wage bills, legislation to establish an ObamaCare exchange in New Jersey, and the so-called Millionaire’s Tax that would hike the state’s top-end rate from 8.97% to 10.75%.

Nine lawmakers, all Republicans, earned the label “Taxpayer Hero” midway through the legislative session with ratings 90% and higher, including Sen. Mike Doherty (R-23, 96%); Assemblymen John DiMaio (R-23, 100%), Erik Peterson (R-23, 100%), Anthony M. Bucco (R-25, 96%), Michael Patrick Carroll (R-25, 96%), David Rible (R-30, 96%), Jay Webber (R-26, 96%), and Scott Rumana (R-40, 92%); and Assemblywoman Alison Littell McHose (R-24, 96%). Another thirty-two Republican legislators were considered “Defenders of the Taxpayer” with ratings ranging from 80-89%.

Sen. Jeff Van Drew (D-01) was the highest-rated Democratic legislator with a Taxpayer Score of 54% followed by his Assembly district colleagues Matthew Milam (52%) and Nelson T. Albano (44%). All remaining Democratic legislators earned AFP’s moniker as a “Taxpayer Zero”, most of whom registered scores below 20% and seven of whom tallied a flat-out zero. The seven Democrats with a 0% Taxpayer Score were Assemblymen Sean Connors (D-33), Craig J. Coughlin (D-19), Albert Coutinho (D-29), and Ruben J. Ramos (D-33), along with Assemblywomen Shavonda Sumter (D-35), Valerie Vainieri Huttle (D-37) and Connie Wagner (D-38).

Americans for Prosperity’s Midterm Taxpayer Scorecard, as well as the Taxpayer Scorecard covering the 2010-2011 legislative session, can be found at

Americans for Prosperity (AFP) is a nationwide organization of citizen-leaders committed to advancing every individual’s right to economic freedom and opportunity. AFP believes reducing the size and intrusiveness of government is the best way to promote individual productivity and prosperity for all Americans. AFP educates and engages citizens to support restraining state and federal government growth and returning government to its constitutional limits. AFP is more than 2 million activists strong, with activists in all 50 states.  AFP has 34 state chapters and affiliates. More than 85,000 Americans in all 50 states have made a financial contribution to AFP or AFP Foundation. For more information, visit

Americans for Prosperity does not support or oppose candidates for public office.