M. Claire French, sworn in as County Clerk

Curley, DiMaso sworn in as freeholders

Thomas A. Arnone named director; Serena DiMaso is deputy director

FREEHOLD, NJ – Thomas A. Arnone took the helm of the Monmouth County Board of Freeholders last night at Monmouth County’s annual Organization Day held at Biotechnology High School, encouraging residents, businesses and local governments to continue working with county offices and services to ensure that Monmouth County recovers from Super storm Sandy.  

“The only way we are going to succeed is by working together and partnering,” Arnone said after becoming director of the Board. “This Board of Chosen Freeholders works hard and is committed to doing just that. Our shared services program, Grow Monmouth initiative and post-Sandy tourism promotion will continue to connect us to our communities and advance our quality of life.” 

Named to the deputy director position was Freeholder Serena DiMaso.

“We all want the same thing for our community; controlled property taxes, our infrastructure to be top notch; the best schools for our children and fabulous parks and beaches to enjoy. These are things that this freeholder board has delivered in the past and will continue to deliver,” DiMaso said. “We have accomplished much over the past year, but the best is yet to come.”

Prior to the selection of the Board 2013 leadership, Freeholders John P. Curley and Serena DiMaso and County Clerk M. Claire French were sworn into office. Curley begins his second, three-year term and was issued the oath of office by Senator Jennifer Beck; DiMaso was elected to a one year unexpired term and was sworn into office by Superior Court Judge Lawrence Lawson; French was sworn into her fourth, five-year term by New Jersey Lt. Gov. Kim Guadagno.  

Arnone expressed his thanks to John Curley for his leadership of the freeholder board during an unprecedented year in the county’s history.

“In 2012, the human spirit found a new height in New Jersey and right here in Monmouth County in 2012,” Curley said. “We came together to help our fellow human beings. Our sincere thanks and appreciation go to our neighbors, volunteers, police, fire, first aid responders and municipal officials. Our thanks also go to Governor Christie and Lt. Gov. Guadagno for their assistance, leadership and perseverance during and following Super storm Sandy.”

Also serving on the 2013 Monmouth County Board of Chosen Freeholders are Lillian G. Burry and Gary J. Rich.

Freeholder Burry spoke of the revitalization of Fort Monmouth, continued preservation of open space and praised the efforts of the county Sheriff’s Office and the countywide emergency management team that responded before, during and after Super storm Sandy.

“Our future calls for boldness and prudence as we continue to work through challenging realities,” Burry said. “I believe it is this balance that has kept us strong and able to sustain a AAA bond credit rating when the federal government could not.”

All of the freeholders thanked county staff and for their assistance in helping the county

Freeholder Rich explained that the county reaffirmed its Triple A ratings from all three major ratings agencies and that the agencies were pleased with the county’s proactive response to the storm, including the revaluation of the most affected areas.

“Monmouth County continues to stand out among the 21 New Jersey counties as leaders in serving citizens and providing thought provoking leadership and direction for all of our contemporaries to follow,” Freeholder Gary J. Rich Jr. said. “I look forward to assisting and furthering our leadership goals as we enter 2013.”

Among the 2012 county accomplishments listed by the freeholders were conducting the largest non-holiday food drive in county history (10 ½ tons to the FoodBank of Monmouth and Ocean Counties); beginning the transition of Fort Monmouth to county and local use; creating an online tax assessment appeal filing system; reopening the Oceanic Bridge; paving and resurfacing more than 20 miles of roads; and continuing to replace the trustees at Brookdale Community College.

The freeholders made a number of citizen member appointments to various county boards and commissions that included:

  • Advisory Council to the Monmouth County Office on Aging (three year terms) – Maire Bayerle of Freehold, Isaiah Cooper of Keyport, Phoebe Dichner of Marlboro, Edward Eastman of Colts Neck and James Henry of Asbury Park, Susan O’Brien of Fair Haven and Jud Thorne of Holmdel.
  • Agriculture Development Board – Regular members (three year terms) – Charles Buscaglia of Freehold, Patricia Butch of Millstone, Gary DeFelice of Red Bank, Chester Halka, Jr. of Englishtown and William Potter III of Middletown. Appointed as alternate members (one year terms) were J. David Holmes of Cream Ridge and Ross Clayton of Freehold Township.
  • Addiction Services (three year terms) – James A. Wallace of Freehold, Gerald Falzone of Millstone Therese Hendrickson of Freehold, Fran Miceli of Brielle and  Norman Salt of Belford. Dr. Ramon Solhkhah of Neptune to fill an unexpired term ending Dec. 31, 2014.
  • Construction Board of Appeals – Regular member (four year term) Donald Clare of Ocean
  • Environmental Council (three year terms) – James Krauss of Atlantic Highlands, Mike Fedosh of Middletown and Mairin Bellach of Ocean. Jennifer DiLorenzo of Monmouth Beach was also appointed as the Planning Board representative to the Environmental Council (one year term).  
  • Historical Commission (three year terms) – Maureen Leach of Freehold and Robert Schoeffling of Atlantic Highlands.
  • Library Commission (three year term) – Frank Wells of Union Beach
  • Mosquito Extermination Commission – (three year terms) Robert Hary of Freehold and Christopher Marion of Freehold.
  • Planning Board – Regular members (three year terms) Charles Casagrande of Spring Lake and Paul Kiernan, Jr. of Long Branch; alternate citizen members (one year term) - Jennifer DiLorenzo of Monmouth Beach and Craig S. Marshall of Marlboro.
  • Board of Recreation Commissioners (five year term) – Mark Zelina of Holmdel
  • Senior Citizen & Disabled Resident Transportation Advisory Committee (three year term) – Carolee Trifon of Manalapan.
  • Shade Tree Commission (five year term) – John Mele of Cream Ridge.
  • Solid Waste Advisory Council – Robert Kleinberg of Marlboro
  • Transportation Council (three year term) – Fred Brody of Wayside, Sean Collins of Tinton Fall, Robert Walsh of Howell and Anthony Musich of Manalapan; alternate members Peter Doyle of Atlantic Highlands and Thomas Grimes of Freehold. 
  • Youth Services Commission (three year terms) – Trude Arnette of Monmouth Beach, Detective Kim Best of Middletown, Victoria Dean of Marlboro, Jennifer Hoffer of Freehold, Barry Johnson of Neptune, Selika Josiah-Gore of Morganville, Robert Coogan, Esq. of Wall and Cee Okuzu of Freehold.

For additional information about Monmouth County and the Board of Chosen Freeholders, visit the county’s Website at www.visitmonmouth.com