NEWARK—U.S. Senator Frank R. Lautenberg (D-NJ) today announced that the Obama Administration has approved additional emergency food aid for New Jersey residents impacted by Superstorm Sandy.  Most residents of 18 New Jersey counties severely impacted by Superstorm Sandy will be eligible to receive Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP) benefits to help relieve food expenses related to the storm.  Today's announcement comes in response to Lautenberg's November 9 letter, in which he urged President Obama and Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack to approve D-SNAP benefits for New Jersey communities. 

“As New Jersey families struggle to rebuild after Sandy, the last thing they should have to worry about is being able to feed their children.  This emergency federal aid will help residents affected by Sandy make ends meet and provide food for their families,” said Lautenberg.  “We will continue working to provide federal funding for aid programs and rebuilding efforts that New Jersey needs during this difficult time.”

D-SNAP provides emergency food assistance for households affected by a natural disaster, like Superstorm Sandy. The program provides one month of benefits to disaster survivors not already enrolled in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) and can help boost benefits for households already receiving SNAP allowances.

Residents of the following New Jersey counties will be eligible for D-SNAP benefits:

Atlantic, Bergen, selected zip codes in Burlington and Cumberland, Cape May, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Somerset, Sussex, Union, and Warren counties. Additional counties may be added to the D-SNAP as requested and approved by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Food and Nutrition Service.