October 28, 2012, 0800 Hours



The NJ ROIC and NJOEM are currently preparing for the arrival of Hurricane Sandy which is expected to impact the region as a Category 1 Hurricane.  The NJ ROIC and NJOEM operational level is currently at a Level 3 as of 1330 hours October 26, 2012.  NJOEM will continue to provide situational awareness reports to the State, County, Local and allied agencies throughout the event.  The Governor declared a statewide State of Emergency at 1130 hours, October 27, 2012. 

No incidents to report at this time. 

Road Conditions

          Dry and Clear

NJOEM participating in the EMAC system as needed to meet resource requests.

FEMA personnel in-State and/or present at ROIC with SME’s from appropriate federal agencies.

The Governor declared a statewide State of Emergency on October 27, 2012.  The Governor’s mandatory evacuation remains in place for:

Ocean County:

All of Long Beach Island including; Barnegat Light, Beach Haven, Surf City, Harvey Cedars, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Township, and Bay Head, Berkeley Township (on island), Brick Township (on island), Lavallette, Mantoloking, Seaside Heights, Seaside Park, Toms River Township (on island)

Atlantic County:

Long Port, Margate City, Brigantine, Ventnor City, Atlantic City

Atlantic City Casinos will be closing at 1600 hours tomorrow.

Cape May County:

Avalon, Cape May City, Wildwood, North Wildwood, Wildwood Crest, Sea Isle City, Ocean City, Stone Harbor, Strathmere, Avalon


Tolls suspended from 0600 hours on October 28, 2012 for:

 Atlantic City Expressway Westbound for the entire length of the roadway.

Garden State Parkway Northbound between Cape May and the Driscoll Bridge.


State/Allied Agencies Present in EOC:

NJ DOC, NJDEP, NJ DHS, NJDOT, NJDMVA, NJDFS, Agriculture, NJ OHSP, US Coast Guard, NJ Transit, Civil Air Patrol, US ACE, ARC and FEMA are currently staffing the SEOC.  ESF leads and allied agencies are engaged in preparation and posturing for response to Hurricane Sandy. 



During the current operational period, the SEOC staff met with the ESF’s present in the SEOC support room.  The ESF’s representative advised there were no concerns, needs or requests at this time.



Three of the four coastal counties (Atlantic, Cape May and Ocean) have initiated the Governors mandatory evacuation of the barrier islands.  Monmouth County does not possess any barrier islands, however, evacuations on the coastal communities within Monmouth County are considered voluntary at this time.  The following Counties have declared states of emergency:


Atlantic County:                October 27, 2012 – 6:00 a.m. (0600 hrs)

Mercer County:                 October 27, 2012 – 8:41 a.m. (0841hrs)

Cumberland County:          October 27, 2012 – 12:10 p.m. (1210 hrs)

Cape May County:            October 27, 2012 – 1:00 p.m. (1300 hrs)

Monmouth County             October 28, 2012 – 12:00 p.m. (1200 hrs)

Salem County:                  October 26, 2012 – 2:00 p.m. (1400 hrs)

Will activate later this date:

Camden County                October 28, 2012 – 7:00 p.m. (1900 hrs)


Shelters:  Atlantic County will post shelters locations on its website,


Private Sector:



·       Today Rain, mainly after 10am. High near 60. Northeast wind around 15 mph. Chance of precipitation is 90%. New precipitation amounts between a tenth and quarter of an inch possible.

·       Tonight Rain. The rain could be heavy at times. Low around 52. Windy, with a north wind 17 to 22 mph increasing to 26 to 31 mph after midnight. Winds could gust as high as 41 mph. Chance of precipitation is 100%. New precipitation amounts between a half and three quarters of an inch possible.

New Jersey Office of Emergency Management