TRENTON, NJ  – Municipalities in Monmouth County will receive more than $990,000 in state grants to help implement and enhance local recycling efforts, Department of Environmental Protection Commissioner Bob Martin announced today.

The funds are being awarded through the Recycling Enhancement Act, which has significantly increased recycling tonnage grants the DEP is able to distribute to almost all of the state’s cities and towns. Statewide, $13.1 million in state grants will be distributed to municipalities.

“Recycling is a high priority of the Christie Administration because it improves our environment while also creating tangible, economic benefits for municipalities,’’ said Commissioner Martin. “As we observe the 25th anniversary of the state’s Mandatory Recycling Act this year, a landmark law that made New Jersey the first state to require recycling, we are making a call to  action across the state for everyone to renew their commitment to recycle.’’

Grant awards to Monmouth County include: Aberdeen, $21,962; Allenhurst, $2,249; Allentown, $2,758; Asbury Park, $22,193; Atlantic Highlands, $18,766; Avon By The Sea, $4,405; Belmar, $7,287; Bradley Beach, $3,151; Brielle, $6,176; Colts Neck, $30,671; Deal, $561; Eatontown, $27,445; Englishtown, $3,721; Fair Haven, $9,664; Farmingdale, $4,013; Freehold Borough, $14,908; Freehold Township, $69,026; Hazlet, $23,652; Highlands, $4,721; Holmdel, $24,786; Howell, $53,672; Interlaken, $1,407; Keansburg, $13,704; Keyport, $8,569; Little Silver, $10,469; Loch Arbour, $898; Long Branch, $47,071; Manalapan, $23,919; Manasquan, $14,046; Marlboro, $44,211; Matawan, $7,089; Middletown, $114,466; Millstone, $7,152; Monmouth Beach, $4,364; Neptune City, $19,926; Neptune Township, $47,026; Ocean, $52,759; Oceanport, $9,244; Red Bank, $46,866; Roosevelt, $430; Rumson, $16,002; Sea Bright, $1,779; Sea Girt, $4,767; Shrewsbury Borough, $13,218; Shrewsbury Township, $1,719; Lake Como, $2,676; Spring Lake, $6,043; Spring Lake Heights, $8,805; Tinton Falls, $50,719; Union Beach, $10,008; Upper Freehold, $3,743; Wall, $32,536; West Long Branch, $9,058.

The recycling grant program is funded by a $3 per ton surcharge on trash disposed at solid waste facilities. Distribution of grant funds this year is based on the recycling successes local governments demonstrated in 2010. In 2010, New Jersey reached a 40-percent municipal solid waste or MSW recycling rate for the first time since 1998.

Municipal governments, vital to the overall success of recycling, receive 60 percent of the money the fund generates to help them enhance recycling outreach and compliance efforts. The balance is awarded to county solid-waste management and household hazardous-waste collection programs, county and state promotional efforts, and recycling research.

New Jersey became the first state to require statewide recycling in 1987 with passage of the Statewide Mandatory Source Separation and Recycling Act. Municipal Solid Waste, collected from households and small commercial establishments, include paper, corrugated paper, glass, metal containers and plastics.

For a statewide news release on recycling grants, visit  For statewide recycling information and statistics, visit