SAYREVILLE, NJ – New Jersey State First Aid Council (NJSFAC) officers for 2012 were sworn in recently during the group’s annual reorganization meeting at the Middlesex County Fire Academy here.

NJSFAC President Barbara Aras dons a giant boxing glove given to her by the organization’s members during the group’s recent annual reorganization meeting.  The glove symbolizes the NJSFAC’s victory in Gov. Christie’s January veto of the anti-volunteer “EMS redesign bill,” and the anticipated battle on the horizon when the bill’s proponents reintroduce the measure, likely later this year.

The volunteer emergency medical services organization’s officers for 2012 include:

Ø  President Barbara Aras (Little Silver)

Ø  Northern Area Vice President Cyndy Reardon (Bloomingdale)

Ø  Central Area Vice President Joseph G. Walsh, Jr. (Neptune)

Ø  Southern Area Vice President Bryan Platt (New Egypt)

Ø  Treasurer Ken Weinberg (Pittstown)

Ø  Assistant Treasurer LeRoy Gunzelman (Somerville)

Ø  Secretary Barbara Platt (New Egypt)

Ø  Membership Secretary Sue Meyer (Summit)

Ø  Chaplain Walter McKinley (Keyport)

The 82-year-old nonprofit NJSFAC represents more than 20,000 EMS volunteers affiliated with 325 first aid and rescue squads throughout the state.  In 2010, NJSFAC volunteers spent 3 million hours answering 355,000 calls, saving New Jerseyans $225 million.