LINCROFT —  The Monmouth County Board of Recreation Commissioners rang in the new year by swearing in Commissioners Kevin Mandeville, Thomas E. Hennessy, Jr., and Mark E. Zelina during its January 9th meeting.  For Commissioner Mandeville, who was appointed in January 2006 to fulfill a vacated position, this marks his second reappointment, the first in January 2007. Likewise, Commissioner Hennessy was originally appointed to the Board in October 2007 to complete an existing term and is being reappointed.  This is Commissioner Zelina’s first time serving on the Board.

PICTURED – (l to r) Secretary-Director James J. Truncer swears in Commissioners Kevin Mandeville, Mark E. Zelina and Thomas E. Hennessey, Jr. 

Established in 1961 by the Monmouth County Board of Chosen Freeholders, the Board of Recreation Commissioners is the governing body for the Monmouth County Park System.  It is responsible for the operation, maintenance and development of the county’s park and recreation programs. Composed of nine volunteer members appointed to staggered, five-year terms, the Board also serves as the coordinating agency between the state and local municipalities. Other Board members are: Chairman Edward J. Loud, Vice Chairman Fred J. Rummel, Michael G. Harmon, Violeta Peters, David W. Horsnall and Melvin A. Hood.

For more information about the Board of Recreation Commissioners or the Monmouth  County Park System, please visit or call (732) 842-4000. For persons with hearing impairment, the Park System TTY/TDD number is 711. The Monmouth County Park System, created in 1960 by the Monmouth County Board of Chosen Freeholders, is Monmouth County’s Open Space, Parks and Recreation agency.