FREEHOLD, NJ – The Monmouth County Fire Academy graduated 69 firefighters from the Firefighter I program. Graduates were divided into two classes: Class 90 graduated May 24 and Class 91 graduated May 26. Both ceremonies were held at the Fire Academy on Route 33 in Howell.

Graduates worked 188 hours over 30 sessions. They received training in rescue, fire extinguishment, hazardous materials response, cardio-pulmonary resuscitation, electrical safety, and care of hoses, ladders and other equipment.

Gia M. Rispoli of the Brentwood Fire Co. in Middletown receives her Firefighter I graduation certificate from Freeholder Deputy Director John P. Curley.

“As graduates of this program you will embark on a rewarding path of public service on behalf of your friends, your neighbors and your community,” Freeholder Deputy Director John P. Curley said in his address to Class 90. “You have stepped forward to serve others, and you will have rewards. You will save lives, and you will have people come up to you and thank you for saving their lives.

“All of you will be tested in a way most people cannot imagine,” Curley continued. “I am confident you will pass that test due to the training you received here at this academy by these fine instructors.”

A graduate from each class earned an award in honor of Ronald Fitzpatrick, a former instructor at the Fire Academy who died in 2003. The awards went to Christopher P. Larkin, Class 90, of the Adelphia Fire Company in Howell, and John A. Shjarback of the Clarksburg Fire Co. in Millstone in recognition of their high test scores.

Monmouth County Fire Marshal Henry Stryker III congratulated the graduates and urged them to continue their training with advanced courses offered at the Fire Academy.

“Over the years I have learned that it takes a special type of person to be a firefighter,” Stryker said. “They have to have a passion to do this job. The graduates sitting before us have that passion because they have completed the rigorous training as their first step. Please be safe.”

“I have no doubt you will be an asset to your community,” said William Itinger, chief training officer. “These firefighter graduates are to be commended for their dedication and willingness to serve. Go out and join the ranks of the firefighting community. Be safe, and have good careers.”

Each firefighter was awarded a certificate of course completion by Freeholder Curley, Chief Itinger and county Fire Marshal Henry Stryker III.

Each year thousands of local firefighters receive training at the county Fire Academy. Application for the next Firefighter I class is due at the Monmouth County Fire Academy administration office by August 15. Classes begin the second week of September 2009.

Firefighter 1 - Class 90


Steven R. Brennan                              Southard, Howell Township

Carl E. Budrecki                                 Manasquan Hook & Ladder #1

Joseph M. DiMaggio                          E H Stokes, Ocean Grove

Sean A. Drella                                    West Keansburg

James R. Dressler                               Keyport Engine Company

Corey R. Earley                                  Gordon’s Corner, Manalapan

Tom J. Falcone                                   Raritan Hose, Keyport

Brian C. Fani                                      Robertsville Fire Company, Marlboro

Robert A. Figaro                                 Lincoln Hose, Keyport

Ryan Fitzpatrick                                 Shrewsbury Hose Company

Christopher J. Fogarty                        Freehold Township Independent

Justin F. Foley                                    Manalapan #1

Thomas G. Jans                                  Liberty Hose, Keyport

Whitney M. Jans                                Liberty Hose, Keyport

Ryan T. Keyes                                    Morganville Independent

Mitchell E. Lang                                Manalapan #1

Christopher P. Larkin                         Adelphia, Howell Township

Glenn W. Leonard                              Keyport Hook & Ladder

Shawn K. Levins                                Haley Hose Company, Matawan

Jon E. Liss                                          Aberdeen Township Hose & Chemical

Christopher M. Mirra                         Southard, Howell Township

Matthew Molloy                                 Robertsville Fire Company, Marlboro

Michael P. Newman                           Spring Lake #1

Skylar R. O’Connor                            Gordon’s Corner, Manalapan

Andrew S. Pansky                              Gordon’s Corner, Manalapan

Demetrios Papasavas                         Holmdel Fire & Rescue #2

Timothy R. Pfleger                             Keyport FD/Fire Patrol

Gia M. Rispoli                                    Brevent Park Fire Company, Middletown

Aaron W. Rossics                               Spring Lake #1

William G. Sanner                             Englishtown Fire Department

Anthony J. Scatorchia                        Southard, Howell Township

Timothy J. Sidley                               Sea Girt

James A. Thompson                           Manalapan Fire Company #1

Benjamin J. Thornton II                     East Windsor Volunteer Company



Class #91  Firefighter I graduates


James P. Archibald                             Midway Hose, Matawan

Felix E. Baguchinsky                         Little Silver

Christopher A. Bedrosian                   E H Stokes, Ocean Grove

Robert S. Bonney, III                          Deal Fire Company

Arsenio Cruz, Jr.                                Long Branch Fire Department

Ryan M. Czeslaw                               Long Branch Fire Department

Luigi D’Alessandro                            Monroe Township #1

Cash H. Dosby                                    South Wall Fire & Rescue

Jon A. Ferraro                                     Keansburg Fire Department

Joseph A. Goncalves                          Ramtown, Howell Township

Steven B. Hudson                               Wall Fire Company #1

Edward W. Lewandowski, Jr.            Liberty Hose, Keyport

Matthew Maringola                            Southard, Howell Township

Andrew P. Marsala                             Midway Hose, Matawan

Patrick A. McCabe                             Monroe Township #1

Darnell McDonald                              Liberty Hose, Keyport

Benjamin J. Mitrou                            Deal Fire Department

Danilo Molina                                    Cliffwood Volunteer Fire Company

Timothy R. Nudd                                Long Branch Fire Department

Richard S. Pettus                                Keyport Fire Patrol

Tyler M. Pringle                                 Goodwill Fire Company, Belmar

Domenic V. Ranieri                           Little Silver

Alon Regev                                         Aberdeen Hose & Chemical

Justin Rosario                                     Cliffwood Volunteer Fire Company

David L. Russek                                 Long Branch Fire Department

Sergio A. Santos                                 Hazlet Fire Company #1

John A. Shjarback                              Millstone Township

Christopher Thomas                           Neptune City Fire Department

Christopher J. Van Curen                   Marlboro

Rohit Verma                                       Bristol Myers

Daniel J. Virgilio                                Shark River Hills, Neptune Township

Michael L. Vollaro                             Monroe Township Volunteer

James D. Walsh                                  Millstone Township

Alan Wiener                                       Neptune City Fire Department

John A. Zaino                                     Harris Gardens, Union Beach