Teacher appreciation week celebrated May 2-6, 2011

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Last night, the Senate approved a resolution (S. Res. 164) introduced by Sen. Frank R. Lautenberg (D-NJ) to recognize the contributions of teachers to the development and progress of the United States.  The resolution was approved during National Teacher Appreciation Week, which is marked each year during the first full week of May. 

“Teachers shape the future of our nation by helping our kids reach their full potential and preparing the next generation of leaders,” Lautenberg said.  “Teacher Appreciation Week is the time to thank the teachers who have impacted our own lives and who foster growth in our children and grandchildren.  In New Jersey, our teachers deserve respect and admiration, and I will continue working to make sure their hard work is recognized."

The resolution approved today states: “The Senate thanks teachers for their service; promotes the profession of teaching; and encourages students, parents, school administrators, and public officials to participate in teacher appreciation events during ‘National Teacher Appreciation Week.’”

The resolution was cosponsored by Senators Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Mark Begich (D-AK), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Benjamin Cardin (D-MD), Chris Coons (D-DE), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Tim Johnson (D-SD), Kirstin Gillibrand (D-NY), Herb Kohl (D-WI), Mary Landrieu (D-LA), Patty Murray (D-WA), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Charles Schumer (D-NY), and Mark Warner (D-VA).